They resisted the attack from 15 to July 22, 1522, but surrendered after the raiders flew with explosives part of the enclosure. The same August 12th was ordered to destroy the fortress, following the instructions of Cardinal Cisneros, whose strategy of topping and destroy castles to prevent future transgressions are summarized in the phrase: «No Castles in Navarra no lift up head man.» In 1582, the viceroy authorized the sale of the stone from the demolition. The July 30, 1922 opened a monolith in the place where stood the castle, which was blown up with dynamite in 1931 and rebuilt in 1982.
Recomendados en TripAdvisor
Contacto TripNavarra Tours
Teléfono: (+34) 688.988.747 - (+34)722.338.747
E-mail: email@example.comCódigo de inscripción en el Registro de Turismo de Navarra UETC0032