From May 27 to June 23, a dozen Baztan-Bidasoa restaurants offer menus with seasonal as appetizing as lamb, garden products, curd, beans, farmhouse chicken, cheese, steacks … hamlets.
Check for more information at http://www.consorciobertiz.org/consorcio-de-bertiz-es/agenda-de-eventos/jornadas-gastronomicas-productos-del-caserio.html
They resisted the attack from 15 to July 22, 1522, but surrendered after the raiders flew with explosives part of the enclosure. The same August 12th was ordered to destroy the fortress, following the instructions of Cardinal Cisneros, whose strategy of topping and destroy castles to prevent future transgressions are summarized in the phrase: “No Castles in Navarra no lift up head man.” In 1582, the viceroy authorized the sale of the stone from the demolition. The July 30, 1922 opened a monolith in the place where stood the castle, which was blown up with dynamite in 1931 and rebuilt in 1982.
Did you know that Señorío de Bértiz was the first area declared National Park in Navarra? It was in 1984. Anyway, its old owner (Pedro Ciga) has taken care of this area since 1899 as if it was a reserved area.